my meal planning secrets

Anyone who knows me wouldn’t use my name and cooking in the same sentence (and I am not offended!)  It isn’t that I don’t know how to cook but it is one of my least favorite things to do with crafts coming in at a close second.  So people like me have to be creative especially since I have five kids and a husband who like to eat at least 3 times a day!  I may not have the passion to get in the kitchen and make magic but what I do have going for me are my researching and planning skills.  Google, and sometimes Bing, are my best friends when it comes to finding  information on anything including school lunch menus and kids snack menus.  The reason I chose school lunch menus is because they follow USDA nutritional standards and they’re detailed (entree, side, and drink for breakfast, lunch & snack).  Here’s how it works.

step one: google school lunch menu

step two: browse through different menus for ideas.  here is an example of one I like www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/departments/foodserv/menus/cafemenus.shtm

step three: fill in your weekly menu. i like to have at least four different ones to rotate through out the month.  ours is posted on the fridge.  Weekly-Menu-Planner2

step four: make your grocery list using the menu

step five: HAPPY SHOPPING 🙂

Leave a Reply

